Once Upon a Book Club Young Adult Box February 2022 Theme Spoilers!

Make the first comment! Hello Subscription independently researches and reviews the best subscriptions and products. Things you buy through our links may earn us a commission.
Go to commentsNotification

The Once Upon a Book Club Young Adult Box theme for February 2022 young adult fiction boxes is MYTHICAL SEA CURSE!

DEAL: Get 10% off your first order! Use coupon code HELLO10 at checkout.

We are thrilled to share our February Young Adult hint, Mythical Sea Curse!.
.
​Perfect for fans of Spirited Away, this tale inspired by Korean Folklore weaves proverbs and poems with timeless themes that will transport you to another world.​
​.
Deadly storms have ravaged her homeland for generations. Floods sweep away entire villages, while bloody wars are waged over the few remaining resources. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curses them with death and despair. In an attempt to appease him, each year a beautiful maiden is thrown into the sea to serve as the Sea God’s bride, in the hopes that one day the “true bride” will be chosen and end the suffering.
.
Many believe that the most beautiful girl in the village—and the beloved of our main character’s older brother—may be the legendary true bride. But on the night she is to be sacrificed, her brother follows her out to sea, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, our main character throws herself into the water instead.
.
Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, she seeks out the Sea God, only to find him caught in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man—as well as a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits—she sets out to wake the Sea God and bring an end to the killer storms once and for all.
.
But she doesn’t have much time: A human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking…
​.
​A diverse fairytale sprinkled with lush and atmospheric world building, this magical and heartfelt retelling will quickly become a new favorite in your library.

BOOK SPOILER? We think maybe this book! Don’t click if you don’t wanna know!

Once Upon a Book Club is a subscription that offers a unique reading experience. Each month, you’ll receive a book to read, a 5″ x 7″ quote print, along with 2-4 corresponding gifts to match a quote/item mentioned in the book. Readers are advised to open the gifts as they finish the corresponding page to make them feel as if the book is coming to life! Check out all our Once Upon a Book Club reviews to find out more about this unique reading & surprise gifts subscription box!

  • ADULT: Newly released, adult (18+) fiction book (Contemporary, General, or Historical fiction) Subscribers have the option of contacting us for the title.
  • YOUNG ADULT: Newly released, young adult fiction book geared towards ages 14+
  • 3 – 5 individually wrapped gifts with page numbers from the book, not meant to be opened until you reach the given page – bringing the book to life.
  • A 5×7 quote print featuring a quote from the selected book
  • Discussion questions (featured both of Facebook and Instagram) and read-a-long dates for live discussions and gift openings with fellow Book Club members

Are you getting Once Upon a Book Club?

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.