Now in Books Review: September 2021 Books & Music Young Adult

Make the first comment! We received this box for our review. Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Go to commentsNotification

Now in Books is a book subscription that caters to fans of YA and fiction. They promise to send books that feature new authors, diverse stories and characters, and engaging narratives relating to social issues. There are currently 4 plans available. Two are book-only plans, while the other two offer an immersive experience through playlists, guides, and additional activities.

  • Young Adult ($16.99) – one newly released young adult novel each month
  • Books & Music: Young Adult ($19.99) – one gift-wrapped young adult novel, specially curated music playlist, book club guide, discussion questions, and a fun activity like recipes or puzzles each month
  • Fiction ($19.99) – one newly released fiction novel each month
  • Books & Music: Fiction ($24.99) – one gift-wrapped fiction novel, specially curated music playlist, book club guide, discussion questions, and a fun activity like recipes or puzzles every 3 months

DEAL: Get 10% off your first box when you sign up for 3-month+ subscription! Use this link and use the coupon code SAVEMORE.

This is the review of the Books & Music: Young Adult box!

The book is wrapped in a blue paper, sealed with a Now in Books sticker.

Everything in my box!

Here are this month’s book club guide and a card for September 2021’s YA theme, Spark Of Rebellion.

The featured author this month is Brigid Kemmerer. On the next page, they also listed the characters in the book. There’s also a QR code that can be scanned if you want to subscribe to the podcast!

To set up your mood while reading, here’s this month’s mood tunes! It’s the curated playlist that matches this month’s book and theme. Also included below is the streaming guide that features titles from HBOAmazon, and Netflix. They also included discussion questions on the next page.

Inside the book club guide is a recipe for homemade cough remedy.

Defy The Night by Brigid Kemmerer ($17.09)

From New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer comes a blockbuster fantasy series perfect for fans of Holly Black and Victoria Aveyard, about a kingdom divided by corruption, the prince desperately holding it together, and the girl who will risk everything to bring it crashing down.

Apothecary apprentice Tessa Cade is tired of seeing her people die. King Harristan and his cruel brother, Prince Corrick, ignore the suffering of their people and react mercilessly to any sign of rebellion, even as a sickness ravages the land. That’s why she and her best friend Wes risk their lives each night to steal the petals of the delicate Moonflower, the only known cure. But it’s not enough to keep everyone she loves safe-or alive.

When Prince Corrick commits an act of unspeakable cruelty, Tessa becomes desperate enough to try the impossible: sneaking into the palace. But what she finds there makes her wonder if it’s even possible to fix their world without destroying it first.

Brigid Kemmerer’s captivating new series is about those with power and those without . . . and what happens when someone is brave enough to imagine a new future.

This young adult fantasy novel is inspired by Robin Hood. It takes place in the Kingdom of Kandala which is currently suffering because of a disease. It’s filled with political intrigue as well.

The story was written from the point of view of Prince Corrick and Tessa. This is actually a great idea because it helped me understand both of the characters. Defy The Night is the first book in a series and I’m already excited for the sequel!

I love this month’s YA book pick from Now in Books box! It was an entertaining read overall, with interesting characters and exciting twists that kept me wanting more. The sweet romance is really just a bonus. The book club guide is also a nice addition to the box. If you’re the type of bookworm who reads with music on, you’d probably love the playlist as well. Overall, the bookworm in me is happy with this subscription! The Books & Music box provides an immersive experience and I’m all for it!

What do you think of the Now in Books box?

Visit Now in Books to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *