BookCase.Club July 2020 Subscription Box Review + Coupon – Surprise-Me Fiction

We received this box for our review. Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

BookCase.Club is a monthly book subscription box offering different genres: Children’s, Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Romance, and Historical/New Age/Contemporary Fiction. Each box contains 2 hand-picked books, except for the Children’s box which includes 3 books. It costs $9.99 per month, making it one of the most inexpensive book subscriptions out there.

This is the review of Surprise-Me Fiction, a new offering that includes two engaging debuts and stand-alone fiction titles which may include historical, family saga, new age, literary, and contemporary.

DEAL: Save 50% on your first month! Use coupon code HELLOSUB501M. OR Get 10% off your entire order! Use coupon code HELLOSUB10.

When you sign up, you’ll pick the genre.

They encourage us to take pictures and share them on social media using #BCCUnboxing.

The books were wrapped with Bookcase.club-printed tissue paper.

This month’s Surprise Me Fiction book picks are The Captain’s Daughter by Meg Mitchell Moore and The Late Bloomers Club by Louise Miller.

Everything in my box!

The Late Bloomers’ Club by Louise Miller ($14.50)

A delightful novel about two headstrong sisters, a small town’s efforts to do right by the community, and the power of a lost dog to summon true love

Nora, the owner of the Miss Guthrie Diner, is perfectly happy serving up apple cider donuts, coffee, and eggs-any-way-you-like-em to her regulars, and she takes great pleasure in knowing exactly what’s “the usual.” But her life is soon shaken when she discovers she and her free-spirited, younger sister Kit stand to inherit the home and land of the town’s beloved cake lady, Peggy Johnson.

Kit, an aspiring–and broke–filmmaker thinks her problems are solved when she and Nora find out Peggy was in the process of selling the land to a big-box developer before her death. The people of Guthrie are divided–some want the opportunities the development will bring, while others are staunchly against any change–and they aren’t afraid to leave their opinions with their tips.

Time is running out, and the sisters need to make a decision soon. But Nora isn’t quite ready to let go of the land, complete with a charming farmhouse, an ancient apple orchard and the clues to a secret life that no one knew Peggy had. Troubled by the conflicting needs of the town, and confused by her growing feelings towards Elliot, the big-box developer’s rep, Nora throws herself into solving the one problem that everyone in town can agree on–finding Peggy’s missing dog, Freckles.

When a disaster strikes the diner, the community of Guthrie bands together to help her, and Nora discovers that doing the right thing doesn’t always mean giving up your dreams.

It’s a contemporary romance novel, written by an author who is also a pastry chef!

The flap of the dust jacket introduces us to the main characters, the sisters Nora and Kit.

Nora is the owner of a diner, and Kit is an aspiring filmmaker. Set in a small town, the story is charming and overflowing with a sense of community.

I love light and fluffy reads like this one! It’s great to pick up when you’re in need of a break from dark and heavy stories.

The Captain’s Daughter by Meg Mitchell Moore ($12.99)

For fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emma Straub comes an emotionally gripping novel about a woman who returns to her hometown in coastal Maine and finds herself pondering the age-old question of what could have been

Growing up in Little Harbor, Maine, the daughter of a widowed lobsterman, Eliza Barnes could haul a trap and row a skiff with the best of them. But she always knew she’d leave that life behind. Now that she’s married, with two kids and a cushy front-row seat to suburban country club gossip in an affluent Massachusetts town, she feels adrift.

When her father injures himself in a boating accident, Eliza pushes the pause button on her own life to come to his aid. But when she arrives in Maine, she discovers her father’s situation is more dire than he let on. Eliza’s homecoming is further complicated by the reemergence of her first love–and memories of their shared secret. Then Eliza meets Mary Brown, a seventeen-year-old local who is at her own crossroad, and Eliza can’t help but wonder what her life would have been like if she’d stayed.

Filled with humor, insight, summer cocktails, and gorgeous sunsets, The Captain’s Daughter is a compassionate novel about the life-changing choices we make and the consequences we face in their aftermath.

Here’s another Chick Lit and this time it’s set in a coastal town!

This makes a great summer read. I love the setting, I could imagine all the summer cocktails and beautiful sunsets they have there!

The characters in this story seemed real. They were relatable!

Also, I like how the romance progressed in this story. It didn’t feel rushed and that’s great!

BookCase.Club kept me busy this month with these books written by female authors! I love both reads, they are feel-good stories yet they don’t lack depth. One is set in a small town, and the other in a coastal town, and both settings were depicted beautifully in the respective stories. If you’re always on the lookout for new reads, this subscription is for you! They also offer other genres such as Sci-Fi/Fantasy and Mystery/Thriller!

What did you think of this month’s choices? Have you tried any of the BookCase.Club subscriptions?

Visit Bookcase.Club to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *