OwlCrate Jr. February 2020 Box Review & Coupon – BUMP IN THE NIGHT

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

OwlCrate Jr. is a monthly book subscription box for young readers ages 8-12 with a middle-grade book plus fun gender neutral bookish items designed to enhance your little reader’s experience. It’s from OwlCrate, a super popular YA (young adult) fiction subscription.

DEAL: Save 10% on your first 1, 3 or 6-month subscription or gift with the promo code JRCRATEJOY at checkout.

The inner flap has a guide to unboxing your crate!

The items were packed with white squiggles.

The theme for the February 2020 OwlCrate Jr. box is BUMP IN THE NIGHT!

Inside, there’s a list of all the items in the box, as well as an interview with this month’s featured author Benjamin Read & Laura Trinder.

Knowing what inspired the author to pen a story can help children understand the book better.

They also suggested some titles for further reading, especially if you love this month’s book:

On another page is a community feature for Kat and Emma. The next page is about the February Box Photo Challenge!

Everything in the February 2020 OwlCrate Jr. box! 

Scary Feet Socks. It’s a pair of fuzzy and warm socks, an exclusive item from OwlCrate Jr.

The adorable socks are designed by Alex Clauss. They’re made of 85% cotton, 12% polyester, and 3% elastic.

The socks have a dark blue base color and neon green toes, heels, and cuffs!

The socks feature some of the adorable creatures of the night and they are inspired by Monsters Inc.!

Bat plushie. Another creature of the night is a bat, and this one is not scary at all! It’s adorable!

It even comes with red eyes, which reminds us of bats on cartoon shows that usually look like silhouettes with bright red eyes.

It’s so squishy! It’s like a little mouse that has a pair of wings.

Origami Bookmark. Another activity that can keep the kids busy is creating origami using these sheets!

You can get the folding directions for these bookmarks from this month’s magazine!

Retractable Eraser. This eraser is easy to use! You just have to click it and it will reveal a portion of the eraser inside. Then, click and push the eraser back simultaneously inside to keep it again.

We love the colorful monster designs and the bright green base! It’s so cute!

Flashlight. It’s a cute frog-shaped flashlight that the kids can use when reading in the dark!

The cute little frog has its eyes as the light source, and the switch can be found on its side.

It actually looked like a car with the headlights on! Still, it’s really cute and handy!

This month’s featured book is an Exclusive Signed Edition, as the sticker seal indicates.

Monthly Collectible Sticker. This month’s sticker features a bat that looks like delivering a wax-sealed letter at night! It is designed by one of the authors of the book, Laura Trinder!

Bookmark. The bookmark has the same design as the book’s cover.

Another world lives within the stroke of midnight.

The flip side tells us more about the book for this month!

I actually like the cover art of this book, which is the same as what’s in this info card. The art is mysterious and fun!

There’s a note from the authors of the book at the back of the card.

The Midnight Hour by Benjamin Read & Laura Trinder ($12.79)

For fans of portal fantasies like Jessica Townsend’s Nevermoor, Colin Meloy’s Wildwood, and The Spiderwick Chronicles by Tony DiTerlizzi and Holly Black, and unlike so many other fantasies that introduce readers to a world of enchantment and wonder, The Midnight Hour is one filled with beasts and monsters for readers looking to shine their flashlights under the covers.

When strange late-night letters start arriving at home, Emily’s parents set off to investigate. But when her parents disappear completely and Emily is left home alone to face the weird strangers that begin to appear at her door, she takes all of the clues at her disposal and makes for the place where the letters came from — the mysterious Night Post. What she’ll discover is the secret world of the Midnight Hour — a Victorian London frozen in time, full of magic and monsters.

Kept safe by an age-old agreement, the Night Folk have been exiled to a parallel world that can only be accessed by a selected few, including the mail carriers of the infamous Night Post that operate between the two worlds. Emily’s parents are key players in keeping the Night Folk safe, but when the division of the two worlds is threatened, Emily must search for her parents while navigating this dark and unknown version of London.

Armed only with a packed lunch, her very sleepy pocket hedgehog, and her infamously big argumentative mouth, she must escape bloodthirsty creatures of the night, figure out her own family secrets, and maybe just save the world. This is a frightening and enchanting story, a world built out of creatures from our worst fears who become relatable, fully formed characters unlike any we’ve seen as these strangers of parallel worlds band together to save the day.

The back of the book includes some reviews from different magazines.

Like most books, you can find the story’s synopsis on the inside flap of the book’s dust jacket.

Emily is about to explore a different world full of bloodthirsty monsters, secrets, and a place frozen in time!

It’s really an enchanting story, and a good book to make the kids stay on their beds until the end. We also love how Emily explores the parallel world and tries to save the world and find out about her parents, and the secrets of her family!

Puzzle. The box also included this 100-piece puzzle that features two kids and some creatures of the night!

If I remember correctly, this picture is exactly the one on last month’s OwlCrate Jr. teaser!

They gave us a sneak peek for the next box! The March 2020 theme is Code Breakers!

We’re hacking into the mainframe next month, readers! Do you have the skills to thwart the system and go toe to toe with international baddies? This heart pounding mystery is perfect for fans of Spy School, York: The Shadow Cipher, and the Framed! series.

Who says that all creatures of the night are scary? This box proved otherwise, as they included adorable and charming ones like the bat plushie and the monsters featured on the pair of socks! My daughter also likes the monthly collectible sticker which is designed by one of the authors of this month’s featured book. They even included fun bookmark origami. The featured book’s story is thrilling and exciting! We’re looking forward to the next box, we all can’t wait about the codes we’re going to break!

What did you think of the OwlCrate Jr. box this month?

Visit Owl Crate Jr. to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *