BookCase.Club November 2019 Subscription Box Review & 50% Off Coupon – Surprise-Me Fiction

We received this subscription box for our review. Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

BookCase.Club is a monthly book subscription box offering different genres: Children’s, Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Romance, and Historical/New Age/Contemporary Fiction. Each box contains 2 hand-picked books, except for the Children’s box which includes 3 books. It costs $9.99 per month, making it one of the most inexpensive book subscriptions out there.

This is the review of Surprise-Me Fiction, a new offering that includes two engaging debuts and stand-alone fiction titles which may include historical, family saga, new age, literary, and contemporary.

DEAL: Save 50% on your first month! Use coupon code HELLOSUB501M. OR Get 10% off your entire order! Use coupon code HELLOSUB10.

When you sign up, you’ll pick the genre.

The books were wrapped with a tissue paper featuring the BookCase Club logo and social media handles.

This month’s books are Varina by Charles Frazier and The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur.

Everything in my box!

They included a bookmark that says…

Reading is dreaming with open eyes.

There’s a BookCase Club logo at the back.

There’s also a card.

Instead of a list of the items, it features a thank you message.

The Weight of an Infinite Sky by Carrie La Seur ($11.92)

The critically acclaimed author of The Home Place explores the heart and mystery of Big Sky Country in this evocative and atmospheric novel of family, home, love, and responsibility inspired by William Shakespeare’s Hamlet.

The only son of a cattle rancher, Anthony Fry chafed against the expectation that he would take over the business that had belonged to his family for generations. While his ancestors planted deep roots in the unforgiving Montana soil, Anthony wanted nothing more than to leave Billings for the excitement, sophistication, and culture of city life. After college he fled to New York, hoping to turn his lifelong love of the theater into a career.

But New York wasn’t the dream Anthony thought it would be. Now, with the unexpected death of his father, Anthony suddenly finds himself back in the place he swore he’d left behind. While the years have transformed the artistic dreamer, they’ve also changed Billings. His uncle Neal, always the black sheep of the Fry family, has become alarmingly close with Anthony’s mother, and a predatory mining company covets the Fry land.

Anthony has always wanted out of Montana, away from his father’s suffocating expectations. Yet now that he may be freed from the burden of family legacy, he’s forced to ask himself what he truly finds important . . . answers that will ultimately decide his fate.

In this unforgettable novel, Carrie La Seur once again captures the breathtaking beauty of the West and its people as she explores the power of family and the meaning of legacy—the burdens we inherit and those we place upon ourselves.

It’s a great read for fans of Literary Fiction and Family Fiction!

The synopsis is printed on the flap of the dust jacket.

If you’ve read Hamlet, you’ll probably get reminded of it a lot when you read this one. It also has elements of suspense and thriller, keeping us on the edge of our seats with every turn of the page.

It’s wonderfully written, with beautiful details of the Western landscape!

Varina by Charles Frazier ($16.11)

In his powerful new novel, Charles Frazier returns to the time and place of Cold Mountain, vividly bringing to life the chaos and devastation of the Civil War

Her marriage prospects limited, teenage Varina Howell agrees to wed the much-older widower Jefferson Davis, with whom she expects the secure life of a Mississippi landowner. Davis instead pursues a career in politics and is eventually appointed president of the Confederacy, placing Varina at the white-hot center of one of the darkest moments in American history—culpable regardless of her intentions.

The Confederacy falling, her marriage in tatters, and the country divided, Varina and her children escape Richmond and travel south on their own, now fugitives with “bounties on their heads, an entire nation in pursuit.”

Intimate in its detailed observations of one woman’s tragic life and epic in its scope and power, Varina is a novel of an American war and its aftermath. Ultimately, the book is a portrait of a woman who comes to realize that complicity carries consequences.

Words of praises from other authors are listed on the back of the book. It made us more excited to read on!

Its synopsis is also printed on the flap of the dust jacket. If you’ve read Frazier’s Cold Mountain and a fan of historical fiction, this is a must-read as well!

Set during the Civil War, the story is compelling and vividly written. It went back and forth from past to present before Varina’s death, but it wasn’t confusing at all.

I appreciate strong woman characters like Varina. It’s also amazing how many other historical figures were mentioned in the story. Plus, there are a lot of quote-worthy passages!

Surprise-Me Fiction is a new offering from BookCase Club and I’m pretty much impressed with this month’s selection! It included two well-written historical fiction novels, one is set in the West and all about love and family and the other is all about a strong woman and the many things we can learn from her ordeal. BookCase Club remains one of the best ways of getting your hands on great books for a low price. There’s something new to look forward to every month and you can also choose your preferred genre!

Have you tried BookCase.Club? What are you currently reading?

Visit BookCase.Club to subscribe or find out more!