OwlCrate September 2019 Subscription Box Review + Coupon

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

Owl Crate is a monthly subscription of books and bookish items. Each OwlCrate contains one new Young Adult novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish items all matched to the monthly theme. OwlCrate always sends the best items to go along with their theme with the hottest new books out there.

DEAL: Use coupon code WELCOME10 to save 10% on your first subscription!

August’s theme is FEAR THE NIGHT. The boxes always come packed full with the info cards right on top so you get them as soon as you open the box.

The contents of the box are protected by white squiggles.

OwlCrate always has the best info card prints!

The information card tells a little bit about all the items in this month’s box along with little comments on why they were selected or other fun tidbits. The theme follows through even with the info. It is always decorated to go along with that month.

Aside from the card, there’s a booklet included in every box. It includes a comparison of the OwlCrate cover to the Regular cover!

It also features an interview with the author. This month, it’s Emily Lloyd-Jones!

There are even fun on-page activities and other interesting features! Another insightful feature is an interview with a vendor, Bones Coffee Company.

If you want to join the Photo Challenge, the mechanics are also included in the booklet. They also provided the theme for next month’s box.

Everything in our September OwlCrate box.

The Bone Houses by Emily Lloyd-Jones ($16.19)

Buffy the Vampire Slayer meets Sky in the Deep in this bewitching, historical horror novel, perfect for fans of Holly Black and V.E. Schwab.

Seventeen-year-old Aderyn (“Ryn”) only cares about two things: her family and her family’s graveyard. And right now, both are in dire straits. Since the death of their parents, Ryn and her siblings have been scraping together a meager existence as gravediggers in the remote village of Colbren, which sits at the foot of a harsh and deadly mountain range that was once home to the fae. The problem with being a gravedigger in Colbren, though, is that the dead don’t always stay dead.

The risen corpses are known as “bone houses,” and legend says that they’re the result of a decades-old curse. When Ellis, an apprentice mapmaker with a mysterious past, arrives in town, the bone houses attack with new ferocity. What is it that draws them near? And more importantly, how can they be stopped for good?

Together, Ellis and Ryn embark on a journey that will take them into the heart of the mountains, where they will have to face both the curse and the deeply-buried truths about themselves. Equal parts classic horror novel and original fairytale, The Bone Houses will have you spellbound from the very first page.

We have to commend the classic and beautiful cover art for this book! It’s nicely done as the skull is formed not just with bones but some flowers and leaves!

The reviews at the back of the book also added more mystery to the story that we would really love to find out. There are also included praises for the story from other best-selling authors!

Like the back cover, the dust jacket flap also has another kind of cryptic message:

Nothing stays buried forever.

The story is about Ryn, her family, and their graveyard. As gravediggers, it’s not easy for her and her siblings because the location of their graveyard was once the home of the fae. Also, the dead don’t always stay dead. There are these risen corpses known as the “bone houses.”

The bone houses are known to be a result of a decades-old curse, and the arrival of the mapmaker Ellis made it worse as these creatures became more ferocious.

This book copy has the author’s signature on the title page!

It also includes a bookmark with the same design and saying as in the book.

The notecard from the author has a similar classic skull image, the same as what’s on the book cover!

The flip side has some good words from the author, she even drew her favorite character!

Art Print. The art print is spooky and beautiful at the same time. A perfect Halloween decor, it’s inspired by Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury and illustrated by Anne Lambelet.

The Beautiful by Renee Ahdieh ($15.19)

New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight.

In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans is a safe haven after she’s forced to flee her life as a dressmaker in Paris. Taken in by the sisters of the Ursuline convent in the middle of the carnival season, Celine is quickly enraptured by the vibrant city, from its music to its fancy soirées and even its danger. She becomes embroiled in the city’s glitzy underworld, known as La Cour des Lions, after catching the eye of the group’s enigmatic leader, Sébastien Saint Germain.

When the body of one of the girls from the convent is found in Sébastien’s own lair–the second dead girl to turn up in recent weeks–Celine battles her attraction to Sébastien and suspicions about his guilt along with the shame of her own horrible secret.

After a third murder, New Orleans becomes gripped by the terror of a serial killer on the loose–one who has now set Celine in his sights. As the murderer stalks her, Celine finally takes matters into her own hands, only to find herself caught in the midst of an age-old feud between the darkest creatures of the night, where the price of forbidden love is her life.

At once a sultry romance and a decadent, thrilling mystery, master storyteller Renée Ahdieh embarks on her most potent fantasy series yet.

The free preview definitely sparked our interest!

There’s also the uncorrected excerpt of the awaited novel, plus a note from author!

The story is not about romance but a thrilling mystery! We got a little sad when the preview ended, we need the actual book!

The Haunting of Hill House by Shirley Jackson ($12.49) Another nice inclusion in this box is a paperback copy of the story that started the Netflix hit series, The Haunting of Hill House.

No live organism can

continue for long to exist

sanely under conditions

of absolute reality.

It’s a great series to follow, but reading the story is more enthralling. It’s also a part of the Penguin Horror Collection!

It’s great that they included a paperback copy of this story. As we all know, some series aren’t really loyal to the books or the material they’re based on, so it’s amazing that I am able to read the novel as well. Also, some parts are better explained in the book rather than just watching it on screen.

Bones Coffee Company Ground Coffee. A coffee with a Halloween twist! It’s like coffee for the movies! The caramel corn flavor and aroma of the coffee will remind you of the movie theaters.

Trinket Dish/Catchall. The next item is nicely packaged in this Halloween-themed OwlCrate box!

It’s a nice trinket dish that looks perfect along with other Halloween decors! You can place trinkets, jewelry, accessories, or supplies on it, as well as candies and other treats! We love Mary Shelley’s quote inscribed on it!

Beware for I am fearless & therefore powerful.

Lapels and Spells Pin. This month’s enamel pin is a beautiful skull with flowers adorning it!

It’s a two-post pin supported by butterfly clutches.

It reminds me of the Mexican holiday, Día de Muertos or the Day of the Dead!

Fingerless Gloves. They also sent us something to creep our bones but warm our palms! These are fingerless gloves!

The black-based gloves have some white prints of a skull, crossbones, and what looks like small hearts on it.

As always, there’s an included card that gives us the theme for the October box! And It’s Dawn of a New World!

At the back, it says that every October box will contain an exclusive item for the kitchen from Little Inklings Design. Exciting!

Book lovers, especially those who love the horror genre, will definitely be happy with this month’s box! Aside from the regular book inclusion, they also included a paperback copy from Penguins Horror Collection and the novel that started the Netflix series The Haunting of Hill House! We’re also happy about the trinket tray and the pin design! We’re excited about the October box because it’ll be taking us to a new world!

What did you think of this month’s Owl Crate theme? Are you excited for next month’s theme?

Visit Owl Crate to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *