BookCase.Club August 2019 Subscription Box Review & 50% Off Coupon – Sci-Fi & Fantasy!

We received this subscription box for our review. Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

BookCase.Club is a monthly book subscription box offering different genres: Children’s, Young Adult, Mystery/Thriller, Sci-Fi/Fantasy, Paranormal Romance, and Romance. Each box contains 2 hand-picked books, except for the Children’s box which includes 3 books. It costs $9.99 per month, making it one of the most inexpensive book subscriptions out there.

This is the Strange Worlds Case, which is all about Sci-Fi and Fantasy.

DEAL: Save 50% on your first month! Use coupon code CRATE50.

The books were wrapped in tissue paper featuring BookCase.Club’s logo and their social media handles.

Everything in my box!

Children Of The Fleet by Orson Scott Card ($4.85)

From Orson Scott Card, award-winning and bestselling author of Ender’s Game, his first solo Enderverse novel in years.

Children of the Fleet is a new angle on Card’s bestselling series, telling the story of the Fleet in space, parallel to the story on Earth told in the Ender’s Shadow series.

Ender Wiggin won the Third Formic war, ending the alien threat to Earth. Afterwards, all the terraformed Formic worlds were open to settlement by humans, and the International Fleet became the arm of the Ministry of Colonization, run by Hirum Graff. MinCol now runs Fleet School on the old Battle School station, and still recruits very smart kids to train as leaders of colony ships, and colonies.

Dabeet Ochoa is a very smart kid. Top of his class in every school. But he doesn’t think he has a chance at Fleet School, because he has no connections to the Fleet. That he knows of. At least until the day that Colonel Graff arrives at his school for an interview.

You can never go wrong with a space-themed adventure like this one, especially from Orson Scott Card, and finally, a new Enderverse book!

This is the first book of the Fleet School series.

Smart kids, aliens, and out-of-this-world discoveries! There are lots of them in this story and we’re here for it.

The author masterfully set the character conflicts and landscapes, with the prose flowing seamlessly. Reading this book was such a pleasure for us!

The Dragon’s Legacy by Deborah A. Wolf ($18.80)

Epic fantasy in the tradition of Guy Gavriel Kay and Jacqueline Carey. “A world of large-scale epic fantasy… This is a rare find and not to be missed.” New York Times bestselling author Barb Hendee.

In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash’ai—the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories—bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war… and death.

Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja’Akari—a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep.

There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.

This book had us at epic fantasy! We loved the cover as well!

The story catapults you into a world filled with magic and unique cultures. The characters are amazing.

It’s bold, entertaining, and deep all at once. There are lots of beautiful passages and wonderfully detailed scenarios.

Overall, it was exquisitely written, holding our attention down to the last page!

This month’s sci-fi books took us to two different adventures and they were both pleasant. We were thrilled upon seeing them in the box and started reading right away. We love such vivid tales that take us to entirely new worlds. If you love sci-fi stories, the Strange Worlds Case from BookCase.Club is for you. Their book picks are always interesting, and the best thing is that you don’t have to break the bank to get a subscription!

Have you tried BookCase.Club? What are you currently reading?

Visit BookCase.Club to subscribe or find out more!