OwlCrate Jr. July 2019 Box Review & Coupon

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

OwlCrate Jr. is a monthly book subscription box for young readers ages 8-12 with a middle-grade book plus fun gender neutral bookish items designed to enhance your little reader’s experience. It’s from Owl Crate, a super popular YA (young adult) fiction subscription.

DEAL: Save 10% on your first 1, 3 or 6-month subscription or gift with the promo code JRCRATEJOY at checkout.

This Summer Only: Save 20% on all new 3 & 6-month subscriptions! Use the coupon code SUMMER20 to subscribe.

When you open the box, the inner flap has a guide to unboxing your crate!

The items were covered with white squiggles.

Included in the box is an information card. 

The theme for the July 2019 OwlCrate Jr. box is ZODIAC ADVENTURE!

Everything in the July OwlCrate Jr. box! 

They also included an adorable mini magazine!

Of course, the mini-magazine includes an author interview! This month’s featured author is Cindy Lin. Knowing what inspired the author to pen a story can help children understand the book better.

They also suggested some titles for further reading, especially if you love this month’s book:

More fun activities for kids and interesting features!

They even gave us a sneak peek for next month’s box!

It sounds so exciting already!

What dangers would you dare face to seek justice for your family? Our August book pick is a fast-paced, heart-pounding heist adventure set in 1930s New York City, all about family, love, and fierce loyalty. This story is perfect for fans of Wonderstruck, Rooftopers, and York!

Year Of The Pig Button Pin. The cute pin features a pig, because 2019 is the year of the pig!

Zodiac Sticker Sheet. This adorable sticker sheet features various animals featured in zodiac signs, including pig, dog, rabbit, rooster, goat, dragon, monkey, rat, ox, tiger, snake, and horse.

Schleich Figurine. It’s a rooster figurine, and we love how detailed and well-colored it is. This makes a nice desk display for anyone born in the year of the rooster!

Zodiac Pocket Mirror. An OwlCrate Jr. exclusive, this pocket mirror features various zodiac signs and their Chinese names on the cover.

The OwlCrate Jr. logo is printed at the back.

There are mirrors on both sides. It’s really handy and compact.

Constellation Map Tapestry. One look and we knew that this tapestry would look good on our wall! It features both the Hemisphere Boreal and the Hemisphere Austral, with all the constellations and their respective names. It’s such a delight to have it at home, especially for astronomy geeks like us! We’ll be using it with our star map (from one of the very first crates!).

The Twelve by Cindy Lin ($12.15)

The Zodiac Legacy meets Spirit Animals in this epic, heartwarming own-voices adventure!

Usagi can hear a squirrel’s heartbeat from a mile away, and soar over treetops in one giant leap. She was born in the year of the wood rabbit, and it’s given her extraordinary zodiac gifts.

But she can never use them, not while the mysterious, vicious Dragonlord hunts down all those in her land with zodiac powers. Instead, she must keep her abilities—and those of her rambunctious sister Uma—a secret.

After Uma is captured by the Dragonguard, Usagi can no longer ignore her powers. She must journey to Mount Jade with the fabled Heirs of the Twelve, a mystical group of warriors who once protected the land.

As new mysteries unfold, Usagi must decide who she stands with, and who she trusts, as she takes on deadly foes on her path to the elusive, dangerous Dragonlord himself.

Warrior stories are always fun and interesting. This one had us at “zodiac powers”!

Based on the synopsis printed on the book flap, we knew it’s going to be adventure filled!

It was fascinating how the author built up this fictional world. Add the endearing characters into the mix, and there you have a kind of read that’s hard to put down. It’s engrossing enough, even for adults.

We haven’t encountered anything quite like it before, where one’s superpower is linked to their zodiac sign. It’s surely an interesting angle.

It was fast-paced, and it also had its own heartwarming moments throughout. Such an excellent middle grade read!

Here’s the small plate that contains the author’s signature!

We got a card featuring the same artwork as the book cover.

At the back, there is a letter from the author herself.

Also included in the crate is a sheet of paper featuring various Chinese zodiac signs. It includes instructions on how to turn it to a fan.

It also features the characters from this month’s featured book!

Origami Kit. Origami is the art of paper folding. It originates from Japan, but it’s still somehow related to the Chinese zodiac theme because we’re making animal origamis!

The kit includes instruction sheets. Since it came with illustrations, it’s easy to understand and to follow even for the kids.

There are lots of origami paper in the kit, with distinctive animal prints!

Bonnie Lui designed Ceramic Mug. The mug arrived in a giftable box featuring the Owl Crate Jr. logo.

The bottom of the mug also has the logo, ensuring that it’s an OwlCrate exclusive item!

The design is amazing. It looks like it came straight out of a picture book.

Of course, it’s still in line with this month’s theme, so it includes various animals representing zodiac signs.

We totally love the colors and style. And look at that rooster on the back of the pig, it’s so cute!

Owl Crate wowed us once again with their book selection and its accompanying bookish items! Who’d have thought zodiac signs would make a fun theme? My middle grader loved the adventure-filled story and enjoyed learning about Chinese zodiac as well – she went absolutely wild over it. As for the bookish items, our favorites are the mug and the origami kit! We’ll surely be filling the mug with a delicious hot beverage we can sip while reading, while the origami kit would provide a nice break from reading or activity for when we’re done with the book and we miss the characters! Overall, it’s a wonderful box and we’re excited for more!

What did you think of the Owl Crate Jr. box this month?

Visit Owl Crate Jr. to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *