OwlCrate Jr. March 2019 Box Review & Coupon

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

OwlCrate Jr. is a monthly book subscription box for young readers ages 8-12 with a middle-grade book plus fun gender neutral bookish items designed to enhance your little reader’s experience. It’s from Owl Crate, a super popular YA (young adult) fiction subscription.

DEAL: Save 10% on your first 1, 3 or 6-month subscription or gift with the promo code JRCRATEJOY at checkout.

The items were covered with white squiggles.

The theme for the March 2019 OwlCrate Jr. box is BIRDS OF A FEATHER!

Included in the box is an information card.

Everything in the March OwlCrate JR. box! 

They also included an adorable mini magazine!

It has fun activities for kids, like this one where they are teaching us how to draw a parrot. The other page has a subscriber feature!

If your kid wants to join the Photo Challenge, the mechanics are found on this page. They also provided the theme for next month’s OwlCrate Jr. box.

Of course, the mini-magazine includes an author interview! This month’s featured author is Cory Leonardo. Knowing what inspired the author to pen a story can help children understand the book better.

They also suggested some titles for further reading, especially if you love this month’s book:

The Simple Art of Flying Button Pin. This month’s pin features a bird, just like the one on the mini magazine’s cover. You can attach it to a tote, your backpack’s strap, a banner, or even on a denim jacket.

Flamingo Pen. This is really an adorable pen. It depicts not just how pink a flamingo is, but how beautiful it is overall!

It’s such a cute pen to use for jotting down notes whether at home or at school. The details are on point!

The Simple Art of Flying Keychain. This keychain is so light that you can’t almost feel that it is all metal. The bird design is so adorable too!

Owl Plush Toy. This owl plushie that reminds us of one from the Wizarding World!

Look at those enchanting round eyes!

I am guessing it’s a snow owl! The beautiful brown patterned specks look perfect on the powdery white color of the plushie, plus it’s really squishy too!

National Geographic’s Ultimate Explorer Bird Field Guide ($9.09)

This fun, photo-filled, and fact-packed bird guide will make kids Stop! Look! and Listen! to find the feathered friends right in their own backyards. From ducks to hawks, sparrows to sandpipers, kids will learn how, where, and when to spot birds all over the United States. With tons of info and interactivity prompts, it’s the perfect companion for bakyard or field trip, camping or vacation. Durable and portable, it’s just right for pocket or backpack

The kids can know more about our feathered and winged friends using this field guide!

It contains facts about lots of species from the Avian community.

There are also features about birds on some specific habitats, like this one that’s dedicated for the Rio Grande Valley birds!

It tells us more about each type of bird and even their special and unique traits. At the back, you can also find an index that lists all the birds! This guide is simply awesome and the kids loved it!

Aafter reading the bird guide the kids raced out to the back yard for bird watching and drew a picture of a blue footed booby. My 4 year old claimed he saw six of them (definitely not true because we don’t live in a tropical climate, but adorable)!

Ooly Tropical Birds Scented Scratch Stickers ($4.99) This colorful set of stickers has the cutest birds and also included some cool puns!

Aside from being fun, they also smell sweet and yummy, like ripe pineapples!

There are 2 whole sheets plus 7 bigger individual bird stickers.

The stickers are huge!

This is a fun addition to the box. The stickers can be used to decorated anything from cards and notebooks to gadgets and even water bottles!

The Simple Art of Flying by Cory Leonardo ($12.32)

“Delightfully quirky.” —Kirkus Reviews

Perfect for fans of The One and Only Ivan, this irresistible debut novel combines plucky humor and a whole lot of heart in a story about the true meaning of family.

Sometimes flying means keeping your feet on the ground…

Born in a dismal room in a pet store, Alastair the African grey parrot dreams of escape to bluer skies. He’d like nothing more than to fly away to a palm tree with his beloved sister, Aggie. But when Aggie is purchased by twelve-year-old Fritz, and Alastair is adopted by elderly dance-enthusiast and pie-baker Albertina Plopky, the future looks ready to crash-land.

In-between anxiously plucking his feathers, eating a few books, and finding his own poetic voice, Alastair plots his way to a family reunion. But soon he’s forced to choose between the life he’s always dreamed of and admitting the truth: that sometimes, the bravest adventure is in letting go.

There’s a beautiful card that is included with the book, which also has the same artwork as the book cover.

At the back of the card, there’s a note from the author telling us some bits of what the book is about.

Here’s the small plate that contains the author’s signature!

The book cover is really beautiful! It pictures the two parrots, Alastair and Aggie.

The back of the book lets us also take a peek on what adventure awaits!

Alastair will learn that the bravest adventure, sometimes, is in letting go.

The story also features the boy Fritz, his dreams and persistent hope.

This is definitely an interesting read for the kids. Each character has a lovable, distinct personality that the kids can relate to. Every book from this crate really gives the kids something to ponder on, as well as life lessons they can definitely use.

The theme for next month requires cracking a code, which sounds really exciting!

There’s even a cryptex pictured at the back of the hint card and my little detectives, I mean kids, were all hyped up upon seeing it!

The kids had fun with all the contents of this month’s box, and I just loved seeing them enjoy it. The bird-themed items are all adorable especially the pin, keychain, and of course, the lovable plushie. The book is quite interesting and I can tell that the kids love Alastair the most! The stickers are cool too and they smell terrific. Another thing that we loved about this box is the NatGeo Kids Bird Guide! It’s a fantastic way to learn more about the different species and unique traits of birds. Getting this box is really enjoyable for all of us and we really anticipate the monthly delivery!

What did you think of the Owl Crate Jr. box this month?

Visit Owl Crate Jr. to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *