OwlCrate Jr. June 2018 Box Review & Coupon

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

OwlCrate Jr. is a monthly book subscription box for young readers ages 8-12 with a middle-grade book plus fun gender neutral bookish items designed to enhance your little reader’s experience. It’s from Owl Crate, a super popular YA (young adult) fiction subscription.

DEALOwlCrate Jr. is having a summer reading special! Subscribe to OwlCrate Jr for a 3 or 6-month plan with code SUMMEROWL to save 20% off your order! Want to try just one box? Save 15% on your first order with code CALLING15 

The theme for the June 2018 OwlCrate Jr. box is HIDDEN GEMS!

Included in the box is an information card.

It conveys a bit about everything in the box.

The bottom of the box features an owl that says “enjoy your adventure!”

Everything in the June OwlCrate JR. box! 

Gem Button Pin. This month’s pin features a cute illustration of colorful gems, same as those featured in the information card.

It can be easily attached to a bag, a jacket, or a knapsack. The hook keeps the needle secured.

Gemstone Paper Craft. A neat paper craft! Color it in, cut along the lines, then fold along the dotted lines and with a glue stick, secure the tabs from 1-6 on the edges to complete your very own gemstone! How cool is that?

Break-Your-Own Moroccan Geode Kit From Geocentral In A Pouch. Geode kits like this make geology extra fun and interesting for the kids. We received the geode in a cute drawstring pouch.

The geode looks amazing!

There’s also an instruction card on how to break open your geode stone. Of course, this activity needs adult supervision because it involves hammering the rock to break it open. Make sure that you both use safety glasses and that you place the stone on a sock or cloth to avoid it slipping or bouncing off the table. This is going to be exciting! Since we *just* broke open a geode we saved this one for later – but check this out to see what it will look like inside!

Leeloo’s Ravishing Ruby Gem Soap (~$7.50) This soap contains coconut oil, olive oil, palm kernel, soybean oil, shea butter, castor oil, and glycerine.

It has a nice scent to it plus it really looks like a real gemstone with a touch of golden sparkle!

Snow White Pint Size Hero Blind Bag From Funko. It’s a hero blind bag from Funko. The theme is Snow White!

There are 12 figures available and there’s one in each bag.

We got Snow White, and her look was inspired by her ragamuffin look. The details are great as you would expect from Funko and my child loves it!

Even from the back, you’ll see that attention to detail was given to it even though it’s pint-sized. How can you not love this little toy?

GeoCentral Rockin’ Discoveries! Crystals. This kit will introduce kids to some of the crystals found on Earth.

There’s more information on what goes inside the box at the back of the package. It appears that we’ll get 2 crystals and 3 dolomite stones here. A total of 5 stones!

Inside the box is a small pouch that contains the all the stones in this kit. There’s also a magnifier and a booklet.

You can see the stones better when you place the magnifier close to it. Look at the details of the stone. My kid feels like an explorer already and is going through each of the stones.

The booklet features two characters, Pierce and Gemma. I think that this is a nice way of introducing new information to children and get them to be interested in science as well.

There are instructions on how to grow crystals from dolomite stones, as well as a fun maze for kids!

This drawstring pouch makes it easy for us to store the materials from the kit.

Now, let’s see this month’s featured book by Liesl Shurtliff!

We even got a letter from the author herself, an autograph, and an info card about sapphires.

Grump: The (Fairly) True Tale of Snow White and the Seven Dwarves by Liesl Shurtliff  ($12.10)

From the New York Times bestselling author of Rump, comes the true story behind another unlikely hero: a grumpy dwarf who gets tangled up in Snow White’s feud with the wicked queen.

Ever since he was a dwarfling, Borlen (nicknamed “Grump”) has dreamed of visiting The Surface, so when opportunity knocks, he leaves his cavern home behind.
At first, life aboveground is a dream come true. Queen Elfrieda Veronika Ingrid Lenore (E.V.I.L.) is the best friend Grump always wanted, feeding him all the rubies he can eat and allowing him to rule at her side in exchange for magic and information. But as time goes on, Grump starts to suspect that Queen E.V.I.L. may not be as nice as she seems. . . .
When the queen commands him to carry out a horrible task against her stepdaughter Snow White, Grump is in over his head. He’s bound by magic to help the queen, but also to protect Snow White. As if that wasn’t stressful enough, the queen keeps bugging him for updates through her magic mirror! He’ll have to dig deep to find a way out of this pickle, and that’s enough to make any dwarf Grumpy indeed.

Well, this is a nice twist to the Snow White fairy tale. The main character of the story is Grump the Dwarf.

Mirror, mirror on the wall, who’s the grumpiest dwarf of all?

It’s nice seeing Snow White’s story from another viewpoint. The writing style is fun and engaging, keeping the kids curious as they turn every page. Of course, a heartwarming lesson awaits them too.

Here’s a sneak preview about the next month’s box!

Destiny is calling, intrepid readers, are you battle ready? Our July book is an epic fantasy adventure full of action, laughs, and unexpected twists. This book is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson, The Seven Wonders Series, and Trollhunters.

OwlCrate Jr. always puts a lot of effort into coming up with exciting themes every month and choosing items that will fit it. This one is just as I hoped it would be. From fun activities to new knowledge gained, plus a little bit of experimenting on the side, I couldn’t wish for anything more enjoyable for my kids! I love that this month’s box involved a bit of science too – this is the perfect summertime reading box for kids!

What did you think of the Owl Crate Jr. box this month?

Visit Owl Crate Jr. to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *