OwlCrate Jr. January 2018 Box Review

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

OwlCrate Jr. is a monthly book subscription box for young readers ages 8-12 with a middle-grade book plus fun gender neutral bookish items designed to enhance your little reader’s experience. It’s from Owl Crate, a super popular YA (young adult) fiction subscription.

The theme for the January 2018 OwlCrate Jr. box is SUGAR & SPICE!

The information card cleverly conveys a bit about everything in the box.

The owl inside the box has a message for everyone!

Everything in the January OwlCrate JR. box!  

The first item in this month’s box is a small yellow button pin. It has a picture of a cupcake with cherry on top. Yummy!

Sugar Skull Cookie Cutter ($2.60) This skull cookie cutter is made of ABS plastic. It measures about 9.5 inches long by 6.4 inches wide.

The back is used to cut the cookie into shape, while the front is used to stamp the design onto the cookie.

Rolling Pin It’s another baking essential! The rolling pin is made of wood and has a rubber lining to avoid the pastry from sticking. Also, I think the green color adds fun to this tool!

Custom Sprinkles Mix from Sweetest Thing Bake Shop ($5.50) My kids and I love different designs on baked goodies. The mix has different shapes, sizes and colors. It will be super fun to add these sprinkles to the stuff that we will be making!

It comes in a resealable pack which is great for easy storage. At the back of the packaging, you will find the website where you can purchase these and a promo code for a 20% off on your next purchase.

Itsy Bitsy Stickers from Ooly ($1.99) Who wouldn’t love these super cute stickers of food with faces and googly eyes?


You can stick these stickers practically anywhere and design your stuff like notebooks, journals, or your gadgets.

Macaron Vanilla Scented Erasers from Ooly ($3.99) Delicieux! Six erasers that were made to look like a dessert from France, macarons!

Even the packaging is so adorable!

It comes in 6 pastel colors. There’s pink, yellow, orange, blue ,and purple with a white filling. You can pull them apart and get 3 separate pieces each but I prefer to keep them together.

Owlcrate Jr Apron: Every baker needs his or her own apron. This blue apron is really easy to wear, just put the strap over your head and tie it at the back. It also has a small pocket in the front to keep small items like a pencil or even recipe cards.

There is also a simple white print of an owl’s eyes and its beak, as well as chef’s toque, a spoon, and a whisk.

Of course, food for the brain is extremely important so here is this month’s featured book.

The book comes with a note from the author.

Included as well is a recipe with illustrations for a Pan de Muerto Mensajero, which is a kind of sweet bread from Mexico.

The instructions can be found at the back of the recipe card. We can’t wait to get this one in the oven!

You also get a card signed by the author.

Love Sugar Magic: A Dash of Trouble by Anna Meriano ($11.46)

Leonora Logroño’s family owns the most beloved bakery in Rose Hill, Texas, spending their days conjuring delicious cookies and cakes for any occasion. And no occasion is more important than the annual Dia de los Muertos festival.

Leo hopes that this might be the year that she gets to help prepare for the big celebration—but, once again, she is told she’s too young. Sneaking out of school and down to the bakery, she discovers that her mother, aunt, and four older sisters have in fact been keeping a big secret: they’re brujas—witches of Mexican ancestry—who pour a little bit of sweet magic into everything that they bake.

Leo knows that she has magical ability as well and is more determined than ever to join the family business—even if she can’t let her mama and hermanas know about it yet.

And when her best friend, Caroline, has a problem that needs solving, Leo has the perfect opportunity to try out her craft. It’s just one little spell, after all…what could possibly go wrong?

Debut author Anna Meriano brings us the first book in a delightful new series filled to the brim with amor, azúcar, y magia.

There is a short synopsis of the story on the inside flap of the cover.

My daughter devoured this book! I loved that it provided some cultural diversity and we have plans for this weekend to start baking some of the recipes (there’s even more in the back of the book!).

Here are next’s month’s spoilers..

When you flip the card there is a short note on what to expect in the next box. I’m not a fan of “perfect for fans of Stranger Things” and let Owlcrate Jr. know it. They said it’s more of a reference point than anything else, but as a mom of the target audience, it really was more of a turn-off. I don’t expect there to be a non middle-grade novel in the book – but I don’t really think middle grade readers should be watching Stranger Things? Maybe just me. It was just odd. Neither would one expect Game of Thrones references in this box – they are just too young.

This was a fun theme and my daughter really loved the book and all the goodies this month. It was a very full box, and I was surprised with how many items there were. In particular I thought the value for January was outstanding, and the selection was delightful!

What did you think of the Owl Crate Jr. box this month?

Visit Owl Crate Jr. to subscribe or find out more!

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *