OwlCrate May 2017 Subscription Box Review + Coupon

Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

Owl Crate is a monthly subscription of books and bookish items box. Each OwlCrate contains one new Young Adult novel, as well as 3-5 other bookish items all matched to the monthly theme. I love getting this box each month. They obviously spend so much time picking just the right items for the theme.

May’s OwlCrate theme is Comic Explosion. OwlCrate always has the best info card prints and this one is no exception. My son saw this one sitting on my side table and has already claimed it for his wall when I’m done with it.

DEAL: Use code WELCOME10 to save 10% off your first subscription!

Limited time: Use code ALIVE15  to save 15% off your first order!

The information card tells a little bit about all the items in this month’s box. I love how they give little notes on why they selected each item and other fun little tidbits about the selections. With this month’s Comic Explosion theme the information card is written like a comic. I love it and its just one of the extra little details that makes this box so fun.

Everything in my May Comic Explosion OwlCrate.

Eliza and her Monsters by Francesca Zappia ($12.59) – This one has a fun premise to it. I’m all for a fandom and a book inspired by fandoms and the difference between online and offline life sounds interesting.  If you missed it, they announced a couple months ago that for at least the next couple of months they will have exclusive covers!!! It makes the boxes all that much better. Following along with the Comic theme while this isn’t a graphic novel there are graphics by the author through out the book and they are stunning.

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld’s Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

Just a couple of the illustrations. They are gorgeous. I can’t wait to read the book and see how the fit in.

The book also came with a signed bookplate and a note from the author.

They also included an exclusive art print to go along with the book and other goodies.

Funko POP Wonder Woman Vinyl Figure – Owlcrate sent one of 7 POPs this month and I’ve very happy with Wonder Woman. With the movie coming out, she is a hot commodity. Other than Wonder Woman, they also sent out Deadpool, Captain America, Loki, Batman, Harley Quinn, and Sailor Moon

Wonder Woman always looks so fierce. Did any of you see the commercial that premiered during the Supergirl finale? It is set to These Boots are Made for Walking and I loved it. I actually watched it a couple times when it aired and then again this morning when I saw it posted online. If you haven’t watched it, then check it out.

Wonder Woman Adorable Size Candle from Dio Candle Company – This is an exclusive scent just for OwlCrate and I really like it. It was created to represent Wonder Woman’s tropical home and while I at first thought it would be coconuty it is actually fruity.

Color Option Pen – Every time I see one of these I get taken back to my childhood. I used to have these all the time to write in my trapper keeper. I’m passing this one on to my son so he can work on his own comics. He is obsessed with writing his own right now and this will be a fun addition.

OwlCrate always sends a coordinating pin and this month they also sent a new zipper pull.  Both of these items are going to my boys with the information card. They say they are “AWESOME.”

Kafe Coffee Candy – I’m not a big coffee person so I’m going to pass these onto my sister.

Afar Chapter One excerpt ($10.39 for the whole comic) – This is just a sampler but it is in a great format with fantastic graphics. I’m going to show a page below.

Boetema suddenly develops the ability to astrally project to other worlds, unintentionally possessing the bodies of people light years away. Inotu, her inquisitive brother with a pension for trouble, finds himself on the run after he’s caught eavesdropping on an illegal business deal between small town business tycoons and their cyborg bodyguard. When Boetema accidentally gets someone hurt while in another girl’s body, the siblings are forced to work together to solve the problems they’ve created on their planet and others.

AFAR is a coming-of age fantasy tale about two siblings. Boetema can astrally project, and her brother, Inotu, is forced to grow up when their reckless parents leave to work as salt shepherds. Boetema is tasked with figuring out why she dreams she’s in other people’s bodies, and in doing so, makes matters worse on a planet hundreds of light years away. Inotu struggles to become a confident and supportive brother while they’ve been left alone by their parents. Poor, sleep-deprived, and on the run from a cyborg, the siblings work together to overcome their own personal obstacles, making their way across the desert to the thriving metropolis, Yopan.

Owl Crate sent an explosion of fun in my box this month. I’m not as big a graphic novel fan as I know some people are but I’m all for a good book with some extra graphics thrown in. I’m also big into fandoms and have been to my fair share of cons so a story with that setting really calls to me. The items are always so well selected and go so great with the theme for the month and I can never wait to dig right in as soon as my box gets here each month.

June 2017s theme is Make It Out Alive and each box is going to include an item from Fizzy Fairy Apothecary!

☠️ The June book is an intense edge-of-your-seat story that is a perfect blend of dystopian elements, science fiction technology, and environmental collapse. If you liked the TV show Lost, you’re going to love this book!

☠️ This book will also have an OwlCrate exclusive cover! The cover is gorgeous and you won’t be able to find this edition anywhere else!

☠️ The book will include a signed bookplate and letter from the author!

☠️ We’re including SIX bookish item this month, most of which are OwlCrate exclusives. There are items inspired by A Court of Wings and Ruin, An Ember in the Ashes, The Giver, Divergent, among others!

☠️ We’ll have some great sneak peeks to reveal soon so stay tuned!

What did you think of this month’s amazing Owl Crate theme? Are you ready for next month’s?

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *