BookCase.Club June 2016 Subscription Box Review & Coupon – Booking for Love Case

We received this box for our review. Hello Subscription may earn compensation via links in this post. Read the full disclosure
Notification

20160602_205705

BookCase.Club  is a one stop monthly subscription service for book lovers. Each month, you’ll receive 2 books curated for one of eight genres.  For the Read to Me Case (children’s picture books), you’ll receive four books!  With each new subscription, a book is donated to Books for Keeps in Athens, Ga.  This is an inexpensive book subscription – less than $15 including shipping per month!

Select your genre when you sign up.  I love a good romance and am still searching for my HEA (happily ever after), so I got the Booking for Love Case.

20160602_205806

Your books arrive safely packed with paper to prevent them from moving around.  Last month was atypical, and I got two hardcover books.  We’re back to normal with one paperback and one hardcover this month.

book cardThe front of the information card always has a great quote about reading or by a well-known author.  This month’s quote comes from F. Scott Fitzgerald.  Inside, there is a brief synopsis of each title as well as a note to subscribers.

June is here! Can you believe it?  School is out, grills are fired up, and when you’re at a picnic just enjoying being surrounded by family you can still read a great book from this month’s selections!

We really love reading your reviews!  They help us get better and you get a chance to win a super awesome Mega Case.  Be honest so that we can help you get the best book subscription ever!

Happy summer!  Enjoy!

Melissa  🙂

book 1The Someday Jar by Allison Morgan ($10.00):  I am a big Sophie Kinsella / Madeleine Wickham fan, so just seeing that in the overview got my attention.  Well, that and the lemon-drop martinis – another of my faves.  This sounds like a fun poolside read for my upcoming vacation.

Fans of Sophie Kinsella and the Shopaholic series will fall in love with Lanie Howard—young, fabulous, and desperate to transform her life—in this funny, quirky, and endearing story about finding perfect happiness in life’s most imperfect moments.
WHEN LIFE GIVES YOU LEMON-DROP MARTINIS…
Real-estate broker Lanie Howard figures she has the perfect man, the perfect job, and the perfect life. Then she stumbles across her old Someday Jar, the forgotten glass relic where she stashed all the childhood wishes—no matter how crazy—that her father encouraged her to write down on the backs of Chinese restaurant fortunes. She used to be fun once! What happened to her?

DON’T CHOKE ON THE RIND.
Although Lanie is wary of uncorking her past, when an attractive stranger saves her from a life-or-death encounter with a lemon peel at the bottom of a martini glass, she realizes that life is way too short for regrets. Now, jar in hand, Lanie decides to throw caution to the wind, and carry out everything she had once hoped to do, even if it means leaving her perfectly “perfect” life behind…

book 2Vienna Nocturne by Vivien S. Hotwell ($26.00):  The premise of this selection is definitely more dramatic, but I like historical romances too.  And, Mozart is such an interesting figure.  Is it just me, or are you also picturing Tom Hulce in Amadeus?  I will have to move this up in my queue of books to read.

In the tradition of Paula McLain’s The Paris Wife and Laura Moriarty’s The Chaperone comes a sweeping historical love story and a portrait of an age. Vienna Nocturne is a deeply moving debut novel that brings to life two extraordinary figures—a thirty-year-old Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart and a young English soprano, Anna Storace, who was his muse—in prose as spirited, timeless, and touching as Mozart’s greatest compositions.

In late-eighteenth-century London, a young girl takes her first singing lessons with a mysterious castrato in exile. Her life is forever changed. Having learned everything he can teach her, Anna leaves behind all the security and familiarity of home and journeys to Naples and Venice to struggle and triumph in Italy’s greatest opera houses. Only sixteen, she finds herself in an intoxicating world of theaters, nobility, and vice, overwhelmed by her newfound freedom and fame. Her first bitter experience of love and heartbreak inevitably follows.

Within a few years, Anna is invited to sing in Vienna, the City of Music, by the emperor himself. There, in a teasing game of theft and play, Anna first meets Mozart, a young virtuoso pianist and striving, prodigiously talented composer. They are matched in intellect and talent, and an immediate and undeniable charge occurs between the two, despite both being married to others.

As her star rises in Vienna and her personal life deteriorates, Anna experiences an ultimate crisis. During this trying time, her only light is Mozart: his energy, his determination for her, and his art. She, in turn, becomes his hope and inspiration, and his joy, as he writes for her some of his most exquisite and enduring arias—music that will live on as his masterworks.

Rich in historical detail and beautifully wrought by Vivien Shotwell, an author who is herself an opera singer, Vienna Nocturne is a dramatic tour de force of a woman’s struggle to find love and fame in an eighteenth-century world that controls and limits her at every turn.

The value of this month’s box was $36, more than double the cost of the subscription.  I can’t wait to get into both of this month’s selections!  So far, BookCase.Club  has not disappointed me with their choices.  Maybe this will be the month when time allows me to start and/or finish both books I get.  Fingers crossed for a nice, quiet vacation.

So, last month I really wanted to have read Us by the time I got to this review, but I didn’t even get to start it.  My goal is to read that and The Someday Jar while I’m off.  Wish me luck!

Have you tried any of the BookCase Club subscriptions? Save 10% on your first month with coupon code  CRATEJOY.

Visit BookCase.Club to subscribe or find out more!

The Subscription: BookCase.Club
The Description: Book Case is a one stop monthly subscription service for book lovers. Our team consists of certified book worms and we have a long history in the world of literature so you can be assured that the books we select for you each month will be a delight to read. With each new subscription we donate a book to Books for Keeps in Athens, Ga. Genres include YA, children’s picture books, mystery/thriller, sci-fi/fantasy, paranormal romance, and regular romance too!
The Price: $14.99 per month

Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *