MyBookBox April 2016 Subscription Box Review & Coupon

We received this box for our review. The links in this post may be affiliate links. Read full disclosure


My Book Box came in it’s signature green box straight to my door for only $39.95 a month. MyBookBox selects books from 6 genres each month and adds a surprise gift. The genres are: Women’s Fiction, Mystery, Non-Fiction, Young Adult, Children 8-12, and Children 4-7.

When you sign up you’ll pick each genre. I selected Mystery and Young Adult – a book for me and one for my daughter!

IMG_0877Neatly packaged to insure no book damage with a with a personal note from the founders with a few hint of what the box holds.

IMG_0880 IMG_0882

Reusable bags are my weakness. This one is awesome because it folds down when not in use but it’s still sturdy. The side snaps help keep it from getting caught in the mess of bags shoved into bags in my trunk. IMG_0884

IMG_0887Design Originals Color Fun Coloring Book ($4.99) is fun sized. There are different techniques to use and practice. Pages are perforated for easy removal and allowing multiple people to color at once. Each page has a quote with some lines to write thoughts and feelings. I took my book to work with me (and forgot it there) to try my hand. It is fun to color these pages with their upbeat themes.



Included with the coloring book is colored pencils. They are also compact and I can’t imagine having much larger hands and being able to use them. Colors include gray, red, green, blue, yellow and orange. Not a lot of colors but enough that some neat art can be achieved even with my elementary skills.

IMG_0890 Twisted River: A Novel by Siobhan MacDonald ($16 MSRP – $12.84 Amazon)  This paperback edition came with a personal letter from the author and a bookmark with a short review. The letter talks about the inspiration for the book as well as some her personal feelings on the premise of the book. I look forward to reading this but it may impact my thoughts on renting a house.


A gripping debut psychological thriller for fans of The Silent Wife and The Wicked Girls about two families in crisis and a holiday house swap gone terribly wrong

“She would never have fit as neatly into the trunk of his own car.” Limerick, Ireland: the O’Brien family’s driveway. American Oscar Harvey opens the trunk of his hosts’ car and finds the body of a woman, beaten and bloody. But let’s start at the beginning.

Kate and Mannix O’Brien live by Curragower Falls in Limerick, in a lovely house they can barely afford. Their autistic son Fergus is bullied at school, and their daughter Izzy blames herself, wishing she could protect him. Kate decides that her family needs a vacation, and is convinced her luck’s about to change when she spots a gorgeous Manhattan apartment on a home-exchange website.

Hazel and Oscar Harvey and their two children live on Manhattan’s Upper West Side. Though they seem successful and happy, Hazel has mysterious bruises, and Oscar is hiding things about his dental practice. They, too, need a change of pace. Hazel has always wanted her children to see her native Limerick, and the house swap offers a perfect chance to soothe two troubled marriages. But this will be anything but a perfect vacation. And the body in the trunk is just the beginning.


Girl in the Blue Coat by Monica Hesse ($17.99 – $10.82 on Amazon)

An unforgettable story of bravery, grief, and love in impossible times

Girl in the Blue Coat is a powerful, compelling coming-of-age story set against the dark and dangerous backdrop of World War II. It’s an important and page-turning look at the choices all of us–including young adults–have to make in wartime. A beautiful combination of heartbreak, loss, young love, and hope.” –Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Nightingale
“A tapestry of guilt and acceptance, growing responsibility, and reluctant heroism, Hanneke’s coming-of-age under heartbreaking circumstances is a jarring reminder of how war consumes and transforms the passions of ordinary life. Every devastating moment of this beautiful novel is both poignant and powerful, and every word feels true.” –Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Code Name Verity
Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.
On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman’s frantic plea to find a person–a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.
Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary, gripping novel from a bright new voice.


I’m so excited about this book, WWII is a time period that has fascinated me since I was a child. I look forward to reading this and the non young adult book that it is based on. I plan on using this over the summer to help my 11 year old daughter work on her reading.
This box is great! I think the value is good for what I’m getting. There was about $30 or more in value of the items plus the reusable bag and the shipping. We’d like to see the value of the books come up a bit more, but it’s really hard to compare Amazon prices to curated selections that come with subscription-exclusive content like the curator’s letter.

Visit MyBookBox to subscribe or find out more! Save 15% on your first box. Use coupon code LAUGH.

The Subscription: MyBookBox
The Description: MyBookBox is a monthly subscription service which includes 2 books from your selected genres. Each month we work with publishers to preview and read upcoming releases in 6 genres. Our team of educators, publishers and book lovers hand select our books so each month we ensure that you are getting great books that are worth reading, exclusive book content, plus a little surprise, just for you!
The Price: $39.95 per month


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *